Library Advisory Commission

The Library Advisory Commission reports and makes recommendations to the Oakland City Council on Oakland Public Library policies; provides citizen oversight of Measure Q tax funds; and advocates on behalf of OPL programs and services.  

The Commission consists of 15 seats, appointed by the Mayor and Council.  

The public is welcome to attend the Commission’s meeting which are held on the last Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. in the Brad Walters Community Room at the Main Library, 125 14th St.  

Call the Director's office, 238-3281, to confirm meetings in case of cancellation or change-of-venue.  Please note that meetings are rescheduled when observing a holiday.

Library Advisory Commission Members:

  • Kathryn Sterbenc, Chairperson
  • Rebekah Randle, Vice-Chairperson
  • Ain Bailey
  • Victoria A. Barbero
  • Ruby Bernstein
  • Traci M.S. Griffin
  • April Harper
  • Lesley Mandros Bell
  • Rosa Montgomery
  • Susanne M. Perkins
  • Andrew Racle 
  • Noelle Tu Duong

Library Advisory Commission meetings

Advocacy Committee 1/15/14

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 2:00pm

Advocacy Committee 12/12/13

Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 6:15pm

Advocacy Committee 10/16/13

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 4:45pm

Advocacy Committee 9/18/13

Wednesday, September 18, 2013 - 6:15pm

Advocacy Committee 8/21/13

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 - 6:15pm

Advocacy & Outreach Committee 2/2/13

Saturday, February 2, 2013 - 11:00am