OPL Celebrates Latinx Heritage Month

Check out these new books by Latinx authors.

September 15th is the beginning of Latinx Heritage Month and we're excited to feature these new books by Latinx authors in honor of the occasion. Some of these authors may be familiar to you while others, such as Gabriela Garcia, are publishing for the first time. Whether you're looking for poetry, memoir, fiction, science fiction or magical realism there's something here for everyone. Happy reading!

Fiction

American Orphan What's Mine is Yours Of Women and Salt Speculative Fiction for Dreamers 

Oculta Battles in the Desert Ashes Mexican American Families

American orphan / Jimmy Santiago Baca
Renowned poet Jimmy Santiago Baca explores in lyrical prose one young man's attempts to break free from the cycle of addiction, violence and abuse that contributed to his imprisonment and impede his search for happiness and a productive life.

What's mine and yours : a novel / Naima Coster
When a county initiative in the Piedmont of North Carolina forces the students at a mostly black public school on the east side to move across town to a nearly all-white high school on the west, the community rises in outrage. For two students, quiet and aloof Gee and headstrong Noelle, these divisions will extend far beyond their schooling. As their paths collide and overlap over the course of thirty years, their two seemingly disconnected families begin to form deeply knotted, messy ties that shape the trajectory of their lives. On one side of the school integration debate is Jade, Gee's steely, single, black mother, grieving for her murdered partner, and determined for her son to have the best chance at a better life. On the other, is Noelle's enterprising mother, Lacey May, who refuses to see her half-Latina daughters as anything but white. The choices these mothers make will resound for years to come.

Of women and salt / Gabriela Garcia
In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter of Carmen, a Cuban immigrant, she is determined to learn more about her family history from her reticent mother and makes the snap decision to take in the daughter of a neighbor detained by ICE. Carmen, still wrestling with the trauma of displacement, must process her difficult relationship with her own mother while trying to raise a wayward Jeanette. 

SPECULATIVE FICTION FOR DREAMERS : A LATINX ANTHOLOGY / edited by Alex Hernandez, Matthew David Goodwin, and Sarah Rafael Garcaia ; with a preface by Frederick Luis Aldama
A collection of speculative works, including short stories, poems, plays, and graphic short stories that address the breadth of Latinx experiences and identities, including those of DREAMers.

OCULTA / Maya Motayne
The exhilarating sequel to the #1 Sunday Times and Los Angeles Times bestseller Nocturna, about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must reunite when a deadly enemy threatens their kingdom’s chance at establishing a global peace. An epic fantasy perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Sabaa Tahir, and Stephanie Garber.

Battles in the desert / José Emilio Pacheco ; translated from the Spanish by Katherine Silver ; with an afterword by Fernanda Melchor, translated by Sophie Hughes
This landmark novella--one of the central texts of Mexican literature, is eerily relevant to our current dark times--offers a child's-eye view of a society beset by dictators, disease, and natural disasters, set in 'the year of polio, foot-and-mouth disease, and floods.

Entre cenizas y palmas = Between ashes and palms / Anna Christine Rodas
Entre cenizas y palmas is a uterine odyssey, an experimentation in feminist poetics, a journey that dances through the subconscious to the incarnate reality. The female space is imagined as disembodied and embodied, both a site of brutality and fertility, that must be reclaimed and decolonized

Nepantla familias : an anthology of Mexican American literature on families in between worlds / edited by Sergio Troncoso
The essays, poems, and short stories in this collection explore the in-between moments in Mexican American life: the family dynamics of living between traditional and contemporary worlds, between Spanish and English, between cultures with traditional and shifting identities. In times of change, family values are either adapted or discarded in the quest for self-discovery, part of the process of selecting and composing elements of a changing identity. 

Nonfiction

The Soul of a Woman Hola Papi We're Not Broken 

             My Broken Language For Brown Girls


The soul of a woman : on impatient love, long life, and good witches / Isabel Allende
As a young woman coming of age in the late 1960s, Allende rode the first wave of feminism. Among a tribe of like-minded female journalists, she for the first time felt comfortable in her own skin, as they wrote 'with a knife between their teeth' about women's issues. She has seen what has been accomplished by the movement in the course of her lifetime. And over the course of three passionate marriages, she has learned how to grow as a woman while having a partner, when to step away, and the rewards of embracing one's sexuality. So what do women want? To be safe, to be valued, to live in peace, to have their own resources, to be connected, to have control over their bodies and lives, and above all, to be loved.

Hola papi! : how to come out in a Walmart parking lot and other life lessons / John Paul Brammer
The popular LGBTQ columnist and writer presents a memoir though a series of essays that chronicle his life growing up as queer, mixed race kid and offers advice for young people facing the same journey.

We're not broken : changing the autism conversation / Eric Garcia
Garcia began writing about autism because he was frustrated by the media's coverage of it; the myths that the disorder is caused by vaccines, the narrow portrayals of autistic people as white men working in Silicon Valley. His own life as an autistic person didn't look anything like that. He is Latino, a graduate of the University of North Carolina, and works as a journalist covering politics in Washington D.C. Garcia realized he needed to put into writing what so many autistic people have been saying for years; autism is a part of their identity, they don't need to be fixed.

My broken language : a memoir / Quiara Alegría Hudes
"Quiara Alegria Hudes was the sharp-eyed girl on the stairs while her family danced in her grandmother's tight South Philly kitchen, "frizzy hair cut short, bangs teased into stiff clouds, sweat glistening in the summer fog, pamper-butt babies weaving between legs." Quiara was awed by her aunts and uncles and cousins, but haunted by the secrets of the family and the unspoken stories of the barrio -- even as she tried to find her own voice in the sea of language around her, written and spoken, English and Spanish, bodies and books, Western art and sacred altars. Her family became her private pantheon, a gathering of powerful orishas with tragic wounds and she vowed to tell their stories--but first she'd have to get off the stairs and join the dance; she'd have to find her langauge. 

FOR BROWN GIRLS WITH SHARP EDGES AND TENDER HEARTS : A LOVE LETTER TO WOMEN OF COLOR / Prisca Dorcas Mojica Rodriguez
For generations, women of color have had to push against powerful forces of sexism, racism, and classism in this country, and too often, they have felt that they had to face these challenges alone. Through her writing, her activism, and through foundingLatina Rebels, Prisca Dorcas Mojica Rodraiguez fought to create community to help women fight together. Now her new book For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts offers wisdom and a liberating path forward for all fellow Brown girls

All descriptions provided by the publishers.