What's New in Nonfiction: January Releases

New year, new books!

As we welcome the new year we also welcome new books. Here are some of the new nonfiction offerings for January.

Happy reading!

The Devil You Know White Feminism Let Me Tell You What I Mean Ida B the Queen                    

Nobody's Normal Between Two Kingdoms With Her Fist Raised Aftershocks  

Anti-Racism  A Swim in the Pond in the Rain The Three Mothers Land

THE DEVIL YOU KNOW : A BLACK POWER MANIFESTO / Charles M. Blow
The New York Times columnist presents a rallying call to action that challenges popular myths about race and urges Black Americans to unite against white supremacy.

WHITE FEMINISM : FROM THE SUFFRAGETTES TO INFLUENCERS AND WHO THEY LEAVE BEHIND / Koa Beck
A timely and impassioned exploration of how our society has commodified feminism and continues to systemically shut out women of color-perfect for fans of White Fragility and Good and Mad.

LET ME TELL YOU WHAT I MEAN / Joan Didion ; foreword by Hilton Als
From the universally acclaimed, best-selling author of the National Book Award-winning The Year of Magical Thinking: ten pieces never before collected that offer an illuminating glimpse into the mind and process of a legendary writer.

IDA B. THE QUEEN : THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE AND LEGACY OF IDA B. WELLS / Michelle Duster
Written by her great-granddaughter, a historical portrait of the boundary-breaking civil rights pioneer covers Wells' early years as a slave, her famous acts of resistance, and her achievements as a journalist and anti-lynching activist.

NOBODY'S NORMAL : HOW CULTURE CREATED THE STIGMA OF MENTAL ILLNESS / Roy Richard Grinker
A compassionate and eye-opening examination of evolving attitudes toward mental illness throughout history and the fight to end the stigma.

BETWEEN TWO KINGDOMS : A MEMOIR OF A LIFE INTERRUPTED / Suleika Jaouad
An Emmy Award-winning writer and activist describes the harrowing years she spent in early adulthood fighting leukemia and how she learned to live again while forging connections with other survivors of profound illness and suffering.

WITH HER FIST RAISED : DOROTHY PITMAN HUGHES AND THE TRANSFORMATIVE POWER OF BLACK COMMUNITY ACTIVISM / Laura L. Lovett
The first biography of Dorothy Pitman Hughes, co-founder of Ms. Magazine and trailblazing Black feminist activist whose work made children, race, and welfare rights central to the women's movement.

AFTERSHOCKS : A MEMOIR / Nadia Owusu
Nadia Owusu grew up all over the world--from Rome and London to Dar-es-Salaam and Kampala. When her mother abandoned her when she was two years old, the rejection caused Nadia to be confused about her identity. Even after her father died when she was thirteen and she was raised by her stepmother, she was unable to come to terms with who she was since she still felt motherless and alone. Aftershocks follows Nadia's life as she hauls herself out of the wreckage and begins to understand that the only ground firm enough to count on is the one she writes into existence.

ANTI-RACISM : POWERFUL VOICES, INSPIRING IDEAS / Kenrya Rankin
Each page or spread showcases a passage from the writings or speeches of writers/activists in the POC or allied community-especially those who have been unheard in the past; words to enlighten, to prompt change, to provide encouragement, and to move readers to action.

A SWIM IN A POND IN THE RAIN : IN WHICH FOUR RUSSIANS GIVE A MASTER CLASS ON WRITING, READING, AND LIFE / by George Saunders
Paired with stories by Chekhov, Turgenev, Tolstoy, and Gogol, these essays are intended for anyone interested in how fiction works and why it's more relevant than ever in these turbulent times. Saunders approaches each of these stories technically yet accessibly, and through them explains how narrative functions; why we stay immersed in a story and why we resist it; and the bedrock virtues a writer must foster.

THE THREE MOTHERS : HOW THE MOTHERS OF MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR., MALCOLM X, AND JAMES BALDWIN SHAPED A NATION / Anna Malaika Tubbs
In her groundbreaking and essential debut The Three Mothers, scholar Anna Malaika Tubbs celebrates Black motherhood by telling the story of the three women who raised and shaped some of America's most pivotal heroes: Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and James Baldwin. Much has been written about Berdis Baldwin's son James, about Alberta King's son Martin Luther, and Louise Little's son Malcolm. But virtually nothing has been said about the extraordinary women who raised them, who were all born at the beginning of the 20th century and forced to contend with the prejudices of Jim Crow as Black women. Berdis, Alberta, and Louise passed their knowledge to their children with the hope of helping them to survive in a society that would deny their humanity from the very beginning-from Louise teaching her children about their activist roots, to Berdis encouraging James to express himself through writing, to Alberta basing all of her lessons in faith and social justice.

LAND : HOW THE HUNGER FOR OWNERSHIP SHAPED THE MODERN WORLD Winchester, Simon
The author of The Professor and the Madman and The Perfectionists explores the notion of property—our proprietary relationship with the land—through human history, how it has shaped us and what it will mean for our future.

All descriptions provided by the publishers.