Folkland Book Club featuring books from Small Press Distribution

Image advertising Folkland Book Club featuring books from Small Press Distribution at Oakland Public Library

Join us on Zoom for a monthly book club featuring titles from Small Press Distribution. To reserve a free copy of our October book (while supplies last) and to get a Zoom invitation, call Christy Thomas at 510-238-6570. 

OUR OCTOBER 2020 BOOK CLUB PICK:

 

Misery Boy, a novel by Rose Servis
At a prestigious university in Michigan circa 1980, the perplexing poems by Roger Ackroyd have won him a cult following. But who is Roger Ackroyd?Just about the only person on campus not asking that question is Edward Moses, Ackroyd’s secret creator. Instead, Edward is flunking his girlfriend's psych class, fighting with his family, and suffering from writer's block. Enter a rival artist pretending to be Roger Ackroyd. In his last week of college, Edward’s obsession with exposing the poser threatens to reveal his own true identity. A hilarious campus novel in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Kingsley Amis, this debut novel skewers the nature of youth, friendship, and ambition, while making us feel for the lovable but hapless Edward.

 

 

 

When

Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - 6:00pm

Where

Online Program