Library Advisory Commission

The Library Advisory Commission reports and makes recommendations to the Oakland City Council on Oakland Public Library policies; provides citizen oversight of Measure Q tax funds; and advocates on behalf of OPL programs and services.  

The Commission consists of 15 seats, appointed by the Mayor and Council.  

The public is welcome to attend the Commission’s meeting which are held on the last Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. in the Brad Walters Community Room at the Main Library, 125 14th St.  

Call the Director's office, 238-3281, to confirm meetings in case of cancellation or change-of-venue.  Please note that meetings are rescheduled when observing a holiday.

Library Advisory Commission Members:

  • Kathryn Sterbenc, Chairperson
  • Rebekah Randle, Vice-Chairperson
  • Ain Bailey
  • Victoria A. Barbero
  • Traci M.S. Griffin
  • April Harper
  • Dr. A. Aurea Lewis
  • Ken Lupoff
  • Lesley Mandros Bell
  • Rosa Montgomery
  • Susanne M. Perkins
  • Andrew Racle 
  • Sophia Rodriguez 
  • Charles Sanchez
  • Noelle Tu Duong

Library Advisory Commission meetings

Advocacy Committee 10/16/13

Wednesday, October 16, 2013 - 4:45pm
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission 9/30/13

Monday, September 30, 2013 - 5:30pm
Agenda      

Advocacy Committee 9/18/13

Wednesday, September 18, 2013 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Advocacy Committee 8/21/13

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 - 6:15pm
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission Retreat 8/17/13

Saturday, August 17, 2013 - 8:30am
Agenda      

Library Advisory Commission 7/29/13

Monday, July 29, 2013 - 4:45pm
Agenda       Minutes

Library Advisory Commission 6/24/13

Monday, June 24, 2013 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Library Advisory Commission 5/20/13

Monday, May 20, 2013 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Library Advisory Commission 4/29/13

Monday, April 29, 2013 - 5:15pm
Agenda       Minutes

Communication Skills Workshop 4/13/13

Saturday, April 13, 2013 - 12:00pm
Agenda