African American Museum and Library at Oakland

Open today until 5:30pm

Monday 
10:00AM - 5:30PM

Tuesday 
10:00AM - 5:30PM

Wednesday 
10:00AM - 5:30PM

Thursday 
10:00AM - 5:30PM

Friday 
12:00PM - 5:30PM

Saturday 
10:00AM - 5:30PM

Sunday 
Closed

659 14th Street
Oakland, California 94612
The African American Museum and Library at Oakland is dedicated to the discovery, preservation, interpretation and sharing of historical and cultural experiences of African Americans in California and the West for present and…

Holidays and Closures

  • Presidents' Day
    Monday, February 20, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • César Chávez Day
    Friday, March 31, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Memorial Day
    Monday, May 29, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Juneteenth National Independence Day
    Monday, June 19, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Independence Day
    Tuesday, July 4, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Labor Day
    Monday, September 4, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Admissions Day
    Saturday, September 9, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Veterans Day
    Saturday, November 11, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
    Thursday, November 23, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
    Friday, November 24, 2023
    Closed All Day
  • Christmas Day
    Monday, December 25, 2023
    Closed All Day

About African American Museum and Library at Oakland

  • From the I-880 N take the Castro St. Take exit 1A, take exit 1A for 11th St toward 14th St, then Continue on Castro St. Drive to 14th St. We are located on the corner of 14th St and Martin Luther King Blvd.

  • Pay parking lot for patrons. Nearby garage or paid lot. Street parking and metered parking.

  • Multi-story building WITH an elevator. Entrance on 14th Street has a ramp, power assisted doors, and rail. Accessible bathroom(s), Accessible water fountain(s), Accessible parking.

Map

New at African American Museum and Library at Oakland

Popular Collections at AAMLO

Recent Blog Posts

Back to Top